2023 Yorkshire U13, U15, U17 & U19 Fell Running Championships Sponsored by Byram Construction Ltd www.byram.co.uk

1st May Coiners Junior Fell Races

by Eileen & Dave Woodhead Yorkshire Junior Championship Co-ordinators

The Coiners Junior races held annually on the first May Bank Holiday and organised by Calder Valley Fell Runners hosted the 2023 championships for the third time, the other years being 2017 and 2019. For a Bank Holiday the weather held, although the previous nights heavy downpours made some of the course a little 'sticky' in parts.

Although not Yorkshire championship races the 22 runners in the U9 race and the 42 runners in the U11 race set off the days exciting racing with Luca Holliday Keighley and Craven AC and Isobel Moore Ilkley Harriers winning the U9 races, whilst Callum McGoldrick Settle Harriers and Penny Pinker-Hull Bingley Harriers won the U11 races. These two events are regarded as 'challenge' races under FRA rules so sorry, no championship medals can be awarded, but large pouches of Celebration chocolates were awarded to the first three Yorkshire boys and girls to finish.

These courses which have a steepish start we feel are ideal with varied terrain and the routes being not too long with the winning times in the combined U17 and U19 races being 22 minutes, this means no athlete is out for too longer time and can see athletes in front.



43 runners toed the U13 race start line with Jacob O'Sullivan Keighley and Craven AC returning in 12.07 and winning the John Taylor perpetual trophy, Alice White also of Keighley and Craven AC won the girls championship finishing 5th overall.

Another Keighley and Craven AC athlete Zac Jardine won the U15 race in 18.13 in an exciting race with fells new comer Jacob Palmer Skyrac AC who chased Zac all the way to finish 3 seconds behind. Last years GU13 champion Clara McKee Calder Valley Fell Runners finished 3rd overall to take the GU15 title, with Bethan Buckley the current GU13 Yorkshire XC champion 2nd, with 32 runners in this race.

Settle Harrier Jack Sanderson won the MU17 race in 23.04 and the perpetual trophy which Ian Holmes won at the Mount Kinabalu Malaysian race, Jack has previously won the MU15 title twice, 2021 and 2022, runner up this year to Jack was Ned Gallagher-Thompson just like in the MU15 2021 race. Moving up the age groups just like Jack, Izzy-Mai Wilson Dark Peak Fell Runners won the WU17 race in 27.17 after winning the GU15 title last year.

Ilkley Harrier Sam Bentham won the MU19 race in 22.31, whilst Eve Whitaker won the women's title, Eve has the accolade now of winning titles at every age group, GU13 in 2017, GU15 in 2018, 2019 and WU17 in 2021.

All championship winners received perpetual trophies which have been donated by legends of the sport, besides championship medals being awarded all medallists also received a large pouch of Celebration chocolates.

To end proceedings the traditional chocolate throw out ended the days racing and excitement, with the athletes and spectators contesting to catch the flying chocolate as hard as some did the racing, if not more so in some cases. Long may this tradition be a part of our fantastic sport!



A massive thank you once again to Byram Construction Ltd for their continued support of the Yorkshire Junior Fell Running Championships, especially this year where all the runners ran in numbers sponsored by them, comments were made it was a nice touch and keepsake for all the runners. And finally, thank you to Calder Valley Fell Runners and race organiser Di Wright for putting on a fantastic event.

2023 Yorkshire Junior Fell Running Championships



The medallists from Coiners Fell Races

Sponsored by Byram Construction Ltd www.byram.co.uk



	GOLD	SILVER	BRONZE
GU13	Alice May White	Mia McGoldrick	Maisie Oddy
	Keighley & Craven AC	Settle Harriers	Wharfedale Harriers
BU13	Jacob O'Sullivan	Ben Brummitt	Charlie Parteous
	Keighley & Craven AC	Settle Harriers	Bingley Harriers
GU15	Clara McKee	Bethan Buckley	Holly Fitch
	Calder Valley Fell Runners	Keighley & Craven AC	Wharfedale Harriers
BU15	Zac Jardine	Jacob Palmer	Joseph Stone
	Keighley & Craven AC	Skyrac AC	Calder Valley Fell Runners
WU17	Izzy-Mai Wilson	Olivia Aldham	Katie Buckley
	Dark Peak Fell Runners	Wharfedale Harriers	Keighley & Craven AC
BU17	Jack Sanderson	Ned Gallagher-Thompson	Jonah Cooper
	Settle Harriers	Keighley & Craven AC	Dark Peak Fell Runners
WU19	Eve Whitaker Harrogate Harriers	No Competitors	No Competitors
MU19	Sam Bentham	Alex Franklin	William Hall
	Ilkley Harriers	Halifax Harriers	Calder Valley Fell Runners
Yo	rkshire non championship ı	aces, due to FRA rules - Cho	colate prizes awarded
GU9	Isobel Moore Ilkley Harriers	Grace Revitt Penistone Footpath Runners	Cora Slater Calder Valley Fell Runner
BU9	Luca Holliday Keighley & Craven AC	Billy White	Joby Pinker-Hull Bingley Harriers
GU11	Penny Pinker-Hull	Imogen Brewer	Bella – Maria Minichiello
	Bingley Harriers	Holmfirth Harriers	Dark Peak Fell Runners
BU11	Callum McGoldrick	Joseph Preston	Raffy Schofield
	Settle Harriers	Keighley & Craven AC	Keighley & Crayen AC